Seven Brides for Seven Brothers (1954) Film Review

SEVEN BRIDES FOR SEVEN BROTHERS

Something I’ve found whilst watching classic musicals is that there’s always quite a few songs I’d never heard of amongst all the iconic ones. Seven Brides for Seven Brothers is one such musical, expect there was only ONE song I was aware of before going in, and it’s more of a dance number anyway. This tells me the film isn’t so well known amongst other musicals like Sound of Music or Singin in the Rain as I anticipated, and I suppose theirs  kind of a reason for it.

Just telling you the story kind of proves my point. Adam is a woodsman who’s looking for a wife. He finds a woman named Milly and he asks her to marry him, despite only just meeting. Of course she agrees, and they get married THAT AFTERNOON. Geez, and I thought Disney characters rushed their marriages! Anyway, she goes to live with Adam, only to discover he has six brothers, and that’s she’s expected to do all the chores around the house. Soon the other brothers fall in love with six women, queue numerous hijinks and song numbers.

Now unless you’ve just time travelled from 1954, I don’t think I need to tell you that this movie’s story sounds like a product of it’s time, and that kind of sums up most of the film overall (though I did get a good laugh every time they rode the horse carriage against a green screen). It also doesn’t help that by today’s standard, it’s quite sexist, and after giving you the premise, I don’t think I need to explain why. And later on, what do the brothers do to get the girls? Kidnap them, of course! Yeah, yeah, I know it’s fiction, but it just seems a little extreme, especially considering by the end it actually works.

But I should probably say that I did enjoy this movie fine, the songs (while they do come out of nowhere) are pretty good, and I was humming the first one after watching the movie. The dance scene halfway through was very impressive, and despite being a tad outdated, it does have that old movie charm that can’t be found today. Some of the choices made haven’t aged that well, but it’s good old fashioned entertainment, even if The Wizard of Oz (made about 20 years earlier) is much more timeless.

Leave a Reply

