Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (1969) Film Review

butch In the unlikely event that I decide to rob a bank, I’d do it whilst listening to what is known on the soundtrack as “South American Getaway” You can look it up yourself, but I’ll give you some sample lyrics: “Ba ba ba ba ba ba ba ba da da da”

Put simply, the soundtrack to this movie is simply gold. There’s not even that much music in the film, but whether it be the bike ride to “Raindrops keep fallin’ on my head” or the aforementioned bank robbery to “ba ba ba ba ba”, they’re definitely highlights. And the rest of the film is also pretty entertaining. It’s a western about two outlaws, and most of the movie follows them trying to outrun the police (or whatever they were called back then) as well as continue to rob banks.

Now while I did enjoy the film, I only consider it to be a good movie, not a great one. This is for a few reasons. At first, it’s really hard to tell who was who. There’s literally a scene where it looks like they’ve both jumped down from a roof, but it turns out only one of them jumped down and someone else found him. The films also far too long for it’s own good, as many parts do drag on, even entertaining scenes like the bank robbing montage are SEVEN minutes long, and by the end of the movie, I was pretty bored.

Okay, so what did I like? Well, when the movie doesn’t drag, it’s a lot of fun, with Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (the characters, not the film) are likeable enough. I always got a great laugh whenever the camera done a dramatic close up, and it looks very unprofessional, but hilarious nonetheles. And as I’ve already said, the music is always great whenever it does appear.

I liked this movie, but it’s certainly far from the best I’ve ever seen. So I do recommend it, but only for some great laughs that aren’t always intentional. And on a final note, Sundance looks like Keith Lemon. Good luck getting that image out of your head.

Leave a Reply

